script font similar to Parkway Hotel... what is it?

marsfonts's picture

Comments

marsfonts's picture

Any help with this font?

Soha's picture

Seems like connected Tarantula Script mixed with another font in the middle part.

http://www.linotype.com/317349/tarantulascript-family.html

marsfonts's picture

Very similar qualities but it's too rounded. This one has sharp edges. I appreciate the try and maybe this will get me closer to identifying it.

marsfonts's picture

any other guesses?

donshottype's picture

Good find Soha. In my opinion a multimillion dollar operation Like Fitzgeralds Casino/Hotel would have no problem in paying for a custom brand identity, rather than use an off the shelf font


It seems to me that the Fitzgeralds designer took the letterforms shown in Steve Jackaman's Tarantula Script of 1997, or in already existing neon signage with freestanding letters, and put them into a sharp cornered running script for the big entrance way sign, business cards and other branded items.
BTW there are changes in the branding http://lasvegasinsideout.com/fitzgeralds/
Of course it is possible that a font designer had the same idea and produced a running script version of the Tarantula Script letters. The design is rather obvious. There may indeed be a font with these characteristics.
Don

donshottype's picture

Here is my running angular script list. You may find something you like as a substitute.
I can give you some leads to similar type faces, which I offer in no particular order.
1. Free Fonts
Eduardo Tunni: Warnes http://www.fontspace.com/eduardo-tunni/warnes
Nick Curtis: Uppen Arms NF http://www.fontspace.com/nicks-fonts/uppen-arms-nf, Dymaxian Script http://www.fontspace.com/nicks-fonts/dymaxion-script
Tup Wanders: Remarcle http://www.fontspace.com/tup-wanders/remarcle
Shy Foundry: SF Americana Dreams http://www.fontspace.com/shyfoundry/sf-americana-dreams
Font Mesa: Ferro Rosso http://www.fontspace.com/fontmesa/ferro-rosso
2. Pay fonts:
Magneto http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/magneto_ot/ot_ps, Streamline http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/streamline_ot/ot_ps, Neon Stream http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/neonstream_ot/ot_ps, Rocket http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/rocket_ot/ot_ps, Raceway http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/raceway_ot/ot_ps, Cottingley http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/device_fonts/cottingley_ot/ot_ps, Air conditioner http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/air_conditioner_ot/ot_ps, Continental Railway http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/continental_railway_o..., Emblem Chief http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/emblem_chief_ot/ot_ps, Permanent Waves Expanded http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/permanent_waves_expan..., Permanent Waves
http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/permanent_waves_ot/ot_ps
Hooptie Script http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/fdi/hooptie-script/, Cabriolet http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/vargusjohn/cabriolet/, Cabriolet V8 http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/vargusjohn/cabriolet-v8/, Frigidaire http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/urw/frigidaire/, Belair http://www.fontbros.com/families/belair/?code=identifont, Permanent Waves http://www.fontdiner.com/menu_doggie.html Emblem Chief http://www.fontdiner.com/menu_cfp.html
Don

Soha's picture

Excellent info Donald.

Syndicate content Syndicate content